The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Vocal Mic For A UA LA 610
Old 13th July 2016
Gear Addict
Vocal Mic For UA LA 610

$4000 or (hopefully) below. I'm a bluegrass musician and harmonize with myself on my recordings. It's not a requirement but it would be "icing" if the mic was very acoustic guitar friendly. But I also have a stereo pair of sE Electronics RN17s that sound superb on acoustic guitar. That's why the vocal mic doesn't have to be a killer acoustic mic. It would just add some versatility. In addition to the LA 610 I have a Millennia HV-3C but as you might guess that's my acoustic instrument pre. Thanks for your recommendations.

Tom

Last edited by kr1012; 14th July 2016 at 12:33 PM..
Old 13th July 2016
If anyone else has input, I'm sure it would be appreciated but If I were to pick one tried and true mic in your budget for what you are doing there's pretty much no going wrong with the Neumann.
Old 13th July 2016
Gear Addict
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Dial View Post
If anyone else has input, I'm sure it would be appreciated but If I were to pick one tried and true mic in your budget for what you are doing there's pretty much no going wrong with the Neumann.
Are you referring to a new M 149 or vintage one?

Tom
Old 13th July 2016
Quote:
Originally Posted by kr1012 View Post
Are you referring to a new M 149 or vintage one?

Tom
There is only a modern M149 A vintage M49 will run you no less than $10,000
Old 13th July 2016
Gear Addict
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Dial View Post
There is only a modern M149 A vintage M49 will run you no less than $10,000

You're absolutely correct. I'm getting the two confused. See what happens when you get old?
Old 14th July 2016
Gear Addict