The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Lachapell 992eg / A designs MP2a sonic comparisons? Dual-Channel Preamps
Old 6th July 2016
Gear Addict

Lachapell 992eg / A designs MP2a sonic comparisons?

I have lots of experience with the LaChapell 992eg and I really dig it on overheads and vocals. I've never heard the MP2A but I have a chance to get one for a really good price right now. Anyone have enough experience with both units to give me an idea how these two compare? My main uses will be overheads, vocals, and acoustics. Thanks!
Old 6th July 2016
Gear Head

Hi JS...I cannot provide any sonic comparison betwixt the 2 preamps...but if you can get a MP2A at a great price, grab it and rejoice. I have 2 MP2A's. You will NOT be disappointed.
Old 6th July 2016
Gear Addict

Yeah. That's what I was thinking. Everything I have read about the MP2A has been very positive. It's weird that's it's not talked about more around here especially with all the praise the rest of the A Designs stuff gets.
Old 6th July 2016
Gear Head

I am laughing . . . it has been buried with all the preamp raves from years ago. It earned its place among the top shelf preamps and now it simply speaks for itself. You'll see.
Old 6th July 2016
Gear Addict

I would still love to hear from anyone who has experience with both. The LaChapell has a really sweet kind of hifi thing going on and I'm hoping to get something very similar from the MP2a
Old 7th July 2016
Dot
Lives for gear

JSRogers, I've used and owned both. The 992 has true input gain and output, so that you can "drive" the sound. The "level" on the MP is really attenuation. Sonically, you can get more tonal variation and color with the 992.

I agree that the strengths of the 992 are more in what it does to the upper range of frequencies. It really is a kind of magic air, and you can really dial in what you want.