The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Speck lilo vs yamaha or2 Mixers (Digital)
Old 29th May 2016
Gear Head

Speck lilo vs yamaha or2

Hi

Has anyone compared the Speck lilo vs yamaha or2 vs control surfaces by protools.

Looking for at least 16 channels without colour from a desk and would assist in mixing down.

The Yamaha is cheaper with more bells and whistles like recall but the preamps are a issue and you would need to bypass these.

Is there any other choices?

Cheers
Old 29th May 2016
Gear Head

HI

Anyone out there
Old 30th May 2016
Gear Maniac

I've been using the Lilo for a couple of years so I will try to answer, if I understand what you're getting at. Do you mean the Yamaha O2r that's like from the late 90s? The Lilo is an analog mixer that I would classify as very neutral, transparent, it has no form of automation so it wouldn't assist in mixing down as say a console with moving faders etc. It has no onboard EQs, or mic pres, just line inputs. The concept would be you do all the automation stuff in your DAW and then sum/monitor and/or incorporate the use of additional analog outboard gear through the Lilo. The Yamaha O2r (if that's what you mean) is a digital automated desk from a very long time ago that I would say is more or less obsolete ( a year ago I discarded/recycled a Panasonic DA7 digital mixer that I think came out later than the O2r as its value was basically negative $0 and I must say it felt a little silly to have thought this thing was ever any good). I would say the O2r is nowhere near as "clean" or "quiet" as the Lilo. I would also risk claiming that its AD/DA conversion is outdated by modern standards and I think you are limited to 16bit/48kHz or 44.1kHz. So these are completely different products and I don't know why you would compare them. It all boils down to your workflow if you want to incorporate an analog mix