The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Nice, big vocals preamp - BAE 1073 MP or ? :) Dual-Channel Preamps
Old 22nd May 2016
Lives for gear

Nice, big vocals preamp - BAE 1073 MP or ? :)

Recording my new album with classical Vedic mantras. Using Horch RM2J tube mic. On previous albums I used it with Forssell SMP-2 preamp. Although for me it is the very best preamp for acoustic instruments, I am not a professional singer with huge voice, so I would prefer more flattering bigger sound than just my bare too natural voice

I have just borrowed Neve 1073 DPA preamp. The vocals through it sound really a bit more firm, slightly bigger and more flattering ... So I would like to get a vocal preamp for me. I don't need stereo preamp. I tried recording various acoustic instruments and drums through Neve (with Schoeps) and Forssell always sounded so much better (more, detailed, spacey, airy). So I need just one great mono preamp for my vocals.

So I have few questions for those with direct experience

1) Would BAE 1073 MP sound similar like Neve 1073 DPA ?

2) What is the difference between BAE 1073 MP and 1073 or 1084, while the other two cost thrice as much. Is the preamp section and sound the same , just EQ is added ?

3) Any other option for a great, flattering big vocal ? Or Neve (BAE) is the reliable way to go ?
Old 22nd May 2016
Quote:
Originally Posted by ISedlacek View Post
Recording my new album with classical Vedic mantras. Using Horch RM2J tube mic. On previous albums I used it with Forssell SMP-2 preamp. Although for me it is the very best preamp for acoustic instruments, I am not a professional singer with huge voice, so I would prefer more flattering bigger sound than just my bare too natural voice