The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Real professional monitors? Studio Monitors
Old 21st February 2016
Here for the gear

Real professional monitors?

I have been recording for about 20 yrs I get how the room acoustics make the difference you get use to the monitors that you have, the normal stuff we all have seen on here. With that in mind here is what happened to me.

Had my mind made up I was going to upgrade my studio monitors with the intention to buy something that I could use when I build my new studio, I had made my mind up to buy the Adams a77x but wanted to listen to them compared to others. So at namm in a piss poor listening enviorment I listened to a77x a7x and s3x.
A little more bass in a77x compared to the a7x but not much other difference.
Of course the s3x sounded way way better than both other speakers. Obviously $2200 for a77x $8000 for s3x makes the difference, but the difference was even more than that price difference. I was listening to beat it and had never heard the reverb on the drums that I was hearing on the s3x that reverb was NOT there on the a77x or the a7x that was just one thing there was many other thing I had never heard before.

Idk if I'm making sense and I know I have left out a lot of information that would be helpful with this question just want someone to reply that has had this same similar experience, but should I just wait till I can afford the real speakers or just settle for the less expensive ones.
Old 21st February 2016
Gear Guru

There are quite the choice of 'real' speakers form other brands that would show you that reverb for less than 8k.......time to get on a mission and try out a load of speakers. Ideally in your own space, not just listening but actually working on them. Ask dealers to try at home and get on it, testing. Have fun!
Old 21st February 2016
Lives for gear