The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Allan smart C2
Old 15th January 2007
Allan smart C2

Hi, Im mixing some live drums on my console, using a beautiful SSL comp and noisegates on kick and sd plus pulteq, 1178 on room mics and the I feed all the tracks in to my Allansmart C2, what a great unit, it born to help drums tracks.

I prefer my C2 compressing my drum buss more tan a 2 track mix.

On Drum buss C2 is a king!!

Best regards.

A.
Old 15th January 2007
Lives for gear

not only is the C2 a great unit but it's father is a nice guy too He talked me through some minor problems after shipping - and I'm a total tech noob - I can't differentiate a screw from a nail ...

Jo
Old 15th January 2007
Lives for gear
I want one !! I want one !! I've been eyeing this one for so long... The time has come, a C2 I shall get.
Old 15th January 2007
Lives for gear

DELCOSMOS ... I envy you .. mixing like that ... would love to hear that drums !!!

chandlersonic : There was one on ebay.de ... just a week ago ... only around € 1800,- nice bargain .....

I got mine for a good price though ....

regards wim

www.inlinemastering.com
Old 15th January 2007
Gear Nut

gday delcosmos

are you using the C2 on the drum buss as an insert or as a parallel send (mixed underneath) or, both for that matter? how much gain reduction are you generally hitting?

do you use use the side chain of the c2 on the drum buss. if so, is it a hi passed version of the drum buss signal?

do you ever use the crush mode for drum buss work?

do you use an eq on your c2 drum buss? if so, before or after compression? if eqing after, what do you compensate for, bass?

i've only had mine for a few weeks and really love it. al smart is such a nice guy too!

Old 15th January 2007
Led
Lives for gear

It is also great in parallel on a whole mix. Al's distributor was based at our studio for a long time until recently. Al used to come here a bit. He loves a chat about gear.
Old 15th January 2007
Lives for gear

Quote: