The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Soundelux ifet 7
Old 14th January 2007
Lives for gear

Soundelux ifet 7

I've been using this in my own studio for a few months and think it's a great mic for vocals but I took it into another studio recently and found that the vocal was very bright, more than I'd noticed before. Does anyone else who uses this mic find this with any particular pre or is it a characteristic of the mic which I'm not picking up in my own studio?

Any thoughts would be helpful,

Steve
Old 14th January 2007
Gear Maniac

I often end up using it in "i" mode for the same reasons...I like this mic a lot.
Old 14th January 2007
Gear Maniac

It's Bright that's true, but the 414 it's brighter... Try to match it with another pre. It's a great mic. And I use it in V position.
Alessio
Old 14th January 2007
Lives for gear

I recently tested a few mics with a few pre's and the iFet7 through the MArtech MSS-10 was a great match. It sounded really good (in V Mode). Sounded totally differenton an avalon 737sp or the Manley Slam. No matter how great the mic is, it WILL sound different depending on the preamp.
Old 14th January 2007
What speakers are you using, and what speakers were the other studio using? Did the track sound bright when you took it back to your studio for a listen?
Old 15th January 2007
Lives for gear

Hi Nathan

I have a project studio here with Genelecs. The studio I took it to had speakers I'd never heard before called Miller and Kreisel, MK. He'd also got a brand new Audient desk. I was using the ifet 7 through my own Daking pre.

Steve
Old 15th January 2007
Gear Maniac

I can't say that I've ever really thought the ifet was too "bright" its definately considerably more crisp than alot of mics but its always my go to, despite having several other varieties in the stable. IMHO M&K speakers are pretty bright, which may account for the differences you heard.

Good Luck!

Jon
Old 15th January 2007
Gear Maniac