The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Owners of the SSL Xlogic Alpha MADI AX, some questions...
Old 13th January 2007
Gear Nut

Owners of the SSL Xlogic Alpha MADI AX, some questions...

Hey all... I will probably go for one of this cool new SSL converters with a RME MADI card. I'm mixing actually ITB with Nuendo and want to use some outboard Comp/FX... I just want to be sure I understand exactly...

With this config (sorry I'm new to MADI), it makes me an 24 channel ADDA 24/96, using only a MADI cable in the RME card ?

If yes, the MADI is supposed to carry 32 channels at 24/96, the 24 analogues I/O will always be affected to the first 24 channels of MADI ?

And if yes, can I use the ADAT INs to use the 8 left channels ?

Last but not least, what do you think of the sound of theses converters ? Any of you had a chance to compare with some other standards boxes (apogee, mytek, etc...) ?

Thanx in advance.
Old 13th January 2007
Solid State Logic

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaNeT View Post

With this config (sorry I'm new to MADI), it makes me an 24 channel ADDA 24/96, using only a MADI cable in the RME card ?

If yes, the MADI is supposed to carry 32 channels at 24/96, the 24 analogues I/O will always be affected to the first 24 channels of MADI ?

And if yes, can I use the ADAT INs to use the 8 left channels ?
Yes, yes, and yes to the above.
Old 13th January 2007
Lives for gear

Nice!
Are these shipping inside europe yet?
Old 13th January 2007
Gear Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Yes, yes, and yes to the above.
Thanx a lot ! Going to buy it

Quote:
Originally Posted by dlmorley View Post
Nice!
Are these shipping inside europe yet?
http://www.playback-europe.com/ssl-x..._ax-12334.html
Old 13th January 2007
Lives for gear

I'm actually considering a similar setup for my Powermac G5:

An RME MADI card, with an SSL AlphaLink with MADI, AES and analog I/O.