The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
2-Bus Hardware for Orchestral Mockups
Old 14th July 2015
Gear Head

2-Bus Hardware for Orchestral Mockups

I'm a composer who uses VSL, EWQL, and many other sample libraries. My mockups are pretty convincing, but they could use some extra life (after you've tasted a live orchestra playing your music it's hard to go back to samples). Any suggestions for analog units to strap onto my 2-bus? I'm thinking EQs and compressors, but I'm open to anything.

A recent sample of my work:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/elt08gd5bl...0Full.mp3?dl=0
Old 14th July 2015
Lives for gear

Bricasti M7.
Old 14th July 2015
I'm not really sure 2-bus processing is the way to make samples more realistic....reverb isn't a bad shout, but really it's in the playing/programming isn't it? As far as I recall, there isn't any outboard in abbey road st 1 - just the 88R, I think maybe a rack of GML pres and...that's about it?

Adding the stuff we'd use for rock (transformers + tubes etc) isn't really it.

Maybe try layering single live players (eg one violinist + one cellist) into a programmed section) might help?
Old 14th July 2015
Gear Head

That is a very good point. This isn't so much about the performance of the MIDI as it is the samples themselves. A saying that I've been using is "filling in the space between the 0's and 1's". At a certain point you can hear that they're digitally produced, and I'm thinking that something analog analog would fill in those spaces. Some people will play a recording into a room and record the mix in stereo in order to capture the reverb of the room. I think that serves a dual purpose of filling the 0's and 1's.

To your point, yes, bringing in a live player is a very effective technique, but I don't always have that luxury.
Old 14th July 2015
Lives for gear

DW FEARN stereo eq or comp
Old 16th July 2015
Lives for gear

bricasti m7.

seriously.
Old 16th July 2015