The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Doubled loudness tinnitus & 10dB hearing loss in just 4 months Other Modular Audio Processors
Old 20th April 2017
Gear Head

Doubled loudness tinnitus & 10dB hearing loss in just 4 months

Hello guys.

I'm a working audio engineer and I just started for 2 years. I normally monitor my mixes at around 60-70dBa. I never go to concerts, but I do go to cinemas, with my earplugs inserted.

I have had tinnitus and 10dB of hearing loss for years. Was fine until this year, things getting worse real quick. Recently I went to my doctor and performed an audiogram test due to unbearable tinnitus in both ears. The test showed that my hearing loss was at 30dB, that's 10dB more since I last checked 4 months earlier. The tinnitus is also more than twice as loud. I can now easily hear it during daytime (40-50dB background noise). Mainly high pitched ringing, sounds like 4k-12k. I'm 22 this year.

Do you guys have this same problem? Is this normal and will it get worse over time? I know this is probably uncurable. Don't wanna lose my job

Edit 1: Now I can hear low-mid roar in both ears. My doctor could not find out the cause.

Edit 2: Now I have shaking vision in both eyes. I'm planning to go to the best hospital in the country to have my brain checked.
Old 20th April 2017
Gear Guru
A lot of health issues like this are inflammation related. I'm guessing there is a bigger picture here. An occipational hazard of being an audio engineer tends to be obesitity - lack of sleep - poor food choices - lack of Vitamin D .... generally a lack of money, which tends to mean poor nutrition ...

If you haven't done so already - start to explore the benefitis of super nutrition, good sleep, stop poisoning yourself ... it's a path you have to study to find what YOUR body needs ...
Old 20th April 2017
Gear Head

Quote: