The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Dealing with Tinnitus Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 15th August 2007
Lives for gear

Dealing with Tinnitus

Are you currently having a hard time coping with Tinnitus, then read on. I have been a musician in over 20 years and during that time I have developed Tinnitus. I have been in periods when I've been close to panicing due to my Tinnitus. According to my doctor I have a rarely good hearing which is sometimes the case with people that have got Tinnitus. I am therefore quite sensitive to Tinnitus inducing noise.

The best way I know of how to deal with Tinnitus is to relax and realise it will get better over time if you protect your ears to loud noise. Just don't pay any additional attention to it. It's very important to realise that very loud sound damages your ears and that it happens to anyone that doesn't care about protecting the ears. You just need to use your common sense. I always wear custom made earplugs wherever I go, no matter if it's the cinema, a noisy club or an old bus, I use my plugs whenever it's necessary and that helps a lot. I have now learned to live with Tinnitus and that's cool.

Here are a few types of situations you should be extra careful about and a few tips as well:

- Buy custom made earplugs for your ears, this is one of the best investments I've made so far
- Don't spend hours of playing with limiter or loudness techniques
- Focus on emotion, not loudness
- Be aware of sudden possible loud noises in the environment and then wear your earplugs just in case
- Rest your ears every now and then
- Don't spend time focusing on how much Tinnitus you currently have, instead remember that over time the Tinnitus will fade as long as you protect your ears to very loud sound
Old 15th August 2007
Lives for gear

Was yours caused by loud noise or an infection?