The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Monitor/Screen Resolution MB32C and MB5
Old 3rd September 2019
Gear Addict

Monitor/Screen Resolution MB32C and MB5

I stumbled across Harrison Mixbus yesterday from a thread I read on this forum, so I decided to check it out.

Wow! I love the concept. Similar to a physical consol with eq and compression on all channels pre-loaded. I'm only an amateur and have only used a few "real" consoles in the past, but this DAW makes a lot more sense to me than any other DAW I have ever used in the past.

However, because of all the info (knobs/faders/buttons etc.) I'm finding it hard to see it all on my monitor. The max resolution I have is 1680x1050px, which is a bit of a struggle to see everything properly - the text is very small and crowded.

I'm not going to blame the software, because I've realised that it's pretty much impossible to show all that info clearly on the one screen at once. When I look at my small Mackie 820i mixer and imagine if that was shown on my monitor. I would have to reduce the image to fit on the screen, then the issue becomes very clear (or not). That IS the reality!!

Neverthless, I've come to the conclusion that I'll need a bigger monitor and better resolution. Although, considering the very reasonable cost of MB, it seems almost absurdly crazy (apart from the normal crazy) to spend a lot of money on just a huge monitor.

Back in the 90's Apple Mac had a monitor that could swivel to 90deg. therefore making it portrait mode - it was very useful. That's the sort of thing that's needed with Mixbus. 2 Monitors side-by-side, but in portrait/vertical mode. 1680px resolution sideways is a "waste of space" on my current monitor.

Mad ideas aside, what Monitor and Screen Resolution are you guys using?
Old 3rd September 2019
Lives for gear