The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Problem with old Klemt Echolette tape echo
Old 20th October 2013
Here for the gear

Problem with old Klemt Echolette tape echo

Hello! I just registered since I didn't really know where else to turn to, haha. I recently bought an old (from 1959 I belive) Klemt Echolette tape-echo (the model seems to be an NG-3), it's working (it also acts as a sort of pre-amp) but the echo-effect is all.. messed up. I'll be honest and say that I'm a complete newbie when it comes to these things, so please bear with me!

Anyway, I've switched the old tape with new one made for Echolette-units I found on ebay, and I cleaned the tape-heads as well as I could, it's a lot less noisy now, but the echo isn't working properly, It's hard to explain how it sounds, so I uploaded a short sound-clip (recorded with a mic infront of my amp, with no other pedals or anything):

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B1eG...it?usp=sharing

As you can hear, the echo is more of a weird space-sound than an echo, so something is very wrong. Has anyone come across an issue like this before?
Old 25th November 2013
Here for the gear

Hello,
I have an Echolette as well. It's the one piece of gear I couldn't live without. Such a lush echo. The preamp is wonderful as well, you can shape the tone in many ways using the gain control and the tone control there. However, I've had it serviced a few times.