The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Recommend good wire strippers?
Old 20th June 2013
Gear maniac

Recommend good wire strippers?

Can someone recommend be a nice stripper ?

I mean a buy once, buy right, great tool for general electronics ?

with thanks

Old 20th June 2013
Lives for gear

Any good pair of wire side/diagonal cutters is all you need to strip wire.

There is a very simple technique you can master which means you can snip the wire to length then strip the outer plastic of far quicker than it would take to put the cutters down and pick up a cable stripper.

Ive been stripping and cutting wires for 25 years and have never needed a dedicated wire stripping tool.

This is how you do it. You need a GOOD pair of sharp cutters though and not the large jaw kind either a small jawed proper pair of quality cutters will last you a lifetime.

Ok so cut wire as you would normally with the cutters. Then simply turn the cutters over in your hand and hold them flipped normally this means that the beveled edge of the cutters is now facing down and away from you.

Now put the jaws of the cutters back to the wire at the point where you want to strip the cable. Close the jaws GENTLY around the plastic and apply a gentle force TOWARDS you with the cutters. You will find that the cutter blades dig into the cable and the outer sleeve should as you pull just be pulled of. If your finding either the cutters slip up as you pull without digging in then simply apply a bit more pressure. If you find the cutters dig in to much and cut the wire then apply less pressure. It is a simple case of practice makes perfect. Like the first time you solder something you will most probably get it wrong but practice on some cheap cable until you get the technique down.