The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Recapping and modding a Yamaha PM1000 - lots of advice, please Consoles
Old 16th September 2011
Lives for gear

Recapping and modding a Yamaha PM1000 - lots of advice, please

I recently bought a Yamaha PM1000 from a friend for $50. I am planning to recap and mod this console myself since I've been reading that it's fairly straightforward in its design, thus being a great way to learn. I am a complete newb at this stuff, though, so I have a couple of questions and points/issues where I need opinions from folks who know more than me:

1) After being off for about a month (maybe even more, I'm not sure), the console powered up fine and didn't have any noise or buzzing the first time I tested it. It did, however, become increasingly noisy and buzzy when I had it in on in my studio for longer. Am I right in assuming that this is likely an issue with old caps.

2) See #1. It seems like the noise and buzz is coming from the master section. The buzz/noise increases and reduces as I pulled the master faders up and down. The input channels didn't add or reduce any buzzing when turned up or down while the master faders were left at unity ("7", according to the manual). Does this seem correct? Would I be correct in assuming that it would be best to recap the master section first?

3) The phantom power doesn't seem to be working. Nothing happens when I flip the switch to the "on" position, so I'm not sure if it's an issue with the switch or if there is something else wrong.

4) Should it be OK if I just recapped the input- and master/monitor-sections or do I need to recap the power supply, talkback/oscillator and headphone sections too?