The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
input pad for monitors Utility Plugins
Old 10th September 2011
Lives for gear

input pad for monitors

I calibrate my monitors to 83db with an SPL meter and pink noise. This is way loud in my little room, so I've been dragging the master fader in the DSP down 12-14db to get a comfortable listening level for mixing. Being a relative digital noob, I did not know that lowering the volume digitally reduces the amount of bits I hear.

After researching volume controls, attenuators, and such, I've decided all I really need is a 12-14db pad between my interface and monitors. The math for such a thing is simple except I don't know the output impedance of the Echo A4 (not in the specs) or the input impedance of the Yamaha HS50Ms.

It can't be rocket surgery because there are several units you can just plug and play like a Nano Patch or Atty.

Or there some "safe" values for the input and output resistors, or a relatively simple way to measure them?

Thanks, guys.
Old 11th September 2011
Lives for gear

My friend Rick Chinn has posted this page:

Uneeda Audio - Build your own attenuator pads

If the monitors have unbalanced inputs, the second pad values in the chart at the bottom of the web page will work. If the circuit is balanced, use a "U" pad with 5.1K resistors for the two series legs, and 3.6K for the shunt (R2 in Rick's "U" pad schematic). For best results (minimizing any effects of cable/wire capacitance), install the pad at the monitor end of the cable.

Also, you can "diddle" the value of R2 to "tune" the amount of attenuation. Lower value of R2 provides MORE attenuation.

Best,

Bri
Old 11th September 2011
Lives for gear