The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Less noise at night?
Old 2nd January 2011
Gear Maniac

Less noise at night?

First off, I am NOT an electrical engineer; also, I've only been recording and mixing for about 3 years. I'm just wondering:

Have you noticed a difference in noise in the daytime as opposed to nighttime?

I've heard this a few times, but don't notice anything (on my Yamaha MSP5's lol). Stereophile Magazine mentions it in a loudspeaker review:

"And with this resolving power, perhaps because the tweeters are AC-powered, the system always sounded cleaner at night than it did during the day, when the AC line would be noisier."

Acapella High Violoncello II loudspeaker Page 3 | Stereophile.com

I'm naturally skeptical of the reviews I read in Stereophile (or any reviews, really).

What's your experience?
Old 2nd January 2011
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by heybub419 View Post
Have you noticed a difference in noise in the daytime as opposed to nighttime?
I've always perfefered working at night. other's don't prefer me working at night though heh

I do remember someone saying the "the frequencies change at night", its def something thats allways stuck in my head, as I seem to be able to relate to it. But I always put it down to there being no actually physical noise outside, such as cars driving down roads, people working etc. rather than cleaner AC power? (not saying the power isn't cleaner at night, just never thought about it like that before)
Old 2nd January 2011
Gear Maniac

Quote:
But I always put it down to there being no actually physical noise outside, such as cars driving down roads, people working etc. rather than cleaner AC power?