The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
How do I start Geeking? Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 31st December 2010
Gear Nut

How do I start Geeking?

Hi guys. I've been wanting to learn the technical side of the gear we all so dearly love, but I have no idea how to start. I am quite serious about pursuing it and am aware of how much time and effort it will take. Any advice or ideas would be greatly appreciated. I am an undergrad. Classes to take? Websites to pour over? Books to read? Thank you.
Old 31st December 2010
Gear Guru

Get a kit. Something cheap, so if you screw it up you won't get discouraged. Something from PAiA might be fun.

PAiA Corporation - Analog Synths, Theremins, Preamps, and More

These are fun, too: Electronics Learning Lab - RadioShack.com
Old 31st December 2010
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by kafka View Post
Get a kit. Something cheap, so if you screw it up you won't get discouraged. Something from PAiA might be fun.

PAiA Corporation - Analog Synths, Theremins, Preamps, and More

These are fun, too: Electronics Learning Lab - RadioShack.com
either that or look at something you actually need, and build it
Old 31st December 2010
Lives for gear

As long as you're in college, take the first part of whatever sequence physics majors take (you can leave off relativity unless you're really into it). If your math isn't up to snuff, take calculus and analytic geometry first.

While neither of these is going to set a record for new, fun things to do, if your foundation is solid, you'll be able to actually understand how stuff works as opposed to not. Forever. Knowledge doesn't wear off, and you'll be able to make a broad range of decisions much more easily.