The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Confusing Volt measurements (newbie) Utility Plugins
Old 26th December 2010
Lives for gear

Confusing Volt measurements (newbie)

I just started learning electronics, and while doing a little experiment, I stumbled upon something which confuses me.

The potentiometer has 2.5k resistance, the LED has listed (not that I understand what those values mean, but I am guessing it is supposed to be operated at maximum those values?):

lv:typ.3000mcd (how bright it shines?)
I(f): 20mA (what does the f stand for anyway?)
U(f): 3,2V

If the potentiometer is turned fully counter clockwise, and I measure directly at the battery pack, I get a value of 4,9Volt (batteries have been in use for a while). If I than measure at the two points displayed in the picture below, I can measure that the LED takes 2,69Volt, and the potentiometer takes 2,23Volt. So far so good.

Here is what confuses me:

If i now turn the potentiometer fully clockwise, and I measure directly at the battery pack, it displays only 3,59Volt (huh?????). Again measuring at the two points displayed in the picture below, I can measure that the LED takes 3,56Volt, whereas the potentiometer takes 0,02Volt.

What happened to the rest of the Voltage available from the battery? There's roughly 1,3Volt missing, who or what is using those?

Attached Thumbnails
Confusing Volt measurements (newbie)-capture.png  
Old 26th December 2010
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by datune View Post
lv:typ.3000mcd (how bright it shines?)
I(f): 20mA (what does the f stand for anyway?)
U(f): 3,2V
Yup, lv is light intensity. The f stands for "forward" i.e. current flowing from anode to cathode.

Quote:
What happened to the rest of the Voltage available from the battery? There's roughly 1,3Volt missing, who or what is using those?
My best guess?