The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Help with repair project of "unknown" french broadcast mixer. (AMiX) ?
Old 28th June 2010
Here for the gear

Help with repair project of "unknown" french broadcast mixer. (AMiX) ?

Hi all, first post for me here after years of lurking.

Background: I'm a technician working my way from the homestudio level and upwards. I got small to none experience with the inside of a mixing console and no electrical education whatsoever. But I'm quite techincally skilled and right now I'm taking on the project to understand and learn to maintain and repair a mixer. That's what this thread is about.

So, the project:

I've picked up an old broadcasting mixer from a local radiostation that I will try to understand, modify and play around with. If I manage to get it working the way I wan't to and find out it sounds good the plan is to use it as a summing mixer for my DAW and use a few preamp channels for recording.

The mixer is a french made thing from "AMiX". I guess late eighties maybe?

The easiest way would ofcourse be to get the schematics and go from there, but I can't find any info at all on the net and a mail to the company AMiX (who makes DJ consoles now) didn't help at all since the didn't know about the mixer and who built it.

So far I've picked out the channels i want to use and cleaned them up. Everything seems to work ok. I havn't really started to listen to how it sounds, compairing the preamps and stuff yet, looking for hum and noice and stuff.

I've made a nice board for the middlesection where I've removed a couple of channels. Mouse & keyboard was my plan there..

So, I'll update as the project goes, but for now:

Anyone seen or used a AMiX mixer?

Anyone have any idea of where to search for schematics?

Anyone skilled who want's to give me feedback and tips in this thread in the future?

Anyone have any experience with the Melodium input transformers in the preamps?

A few pics attached.

Keeping you updated!
Attached Thumbnails