The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Capacitors for Neve Re-cap
Old 18th November 2005
Lives for gear

Capacitors for Neve Re-cap

We have been searching the web etc but still haven't found a large enough supply of desirable capacitors that we can all agree would be the right way to go. We have a 1979 Neve 6235 which is loaded with 36 33114's and 8 33314a's and has never been recapped, it's getting to be about time! any advice on where to find the right capacitors would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
John Gray
The Saltmine Studios
Old 21st November 2005
Gear Maniac

Caps

I don't want to suggest I am an expert but if budget is no object try and use Blackgates throughout. Could be very costly but phenominal results. Had a bud recap a Soundcraft board with them and it was simply stunning. Far superior to the original caps (Roederstein's). For the polyesters you can't go wrong with Wima's. Once again not cheap. They all have a sonic signature thats for sure. For Polystyrenes, there are several good brands out there.

I am about to try out some Nichicon KZ Muse series electrolytics in 4 very high end Boulder Amplifiers. I will definately post my thoughts by Thursday this week. If I don't like them I will use the Blackgates.

Blackgates are made by a division of Rubycon. The VK and FK are polorized. The N,NX,NH series are non polar and great for decoupling and power supply applications.

Ken
Old 22nd November 2005
Lives for gear

Are the caps in question axial (leads coming out from each end of the tubular can) or axial (both wires coming out from one end)?

In general, only the electrolytics need to be replaced in older gear. The "film" capacitors don't have the aging/drying-out problems.

Bri
Old 22nd November 2005