The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Help!!!!!! Yamaha pm700 question pm1000 Single-Channel Preamps
Old 20th February 2010
Gear Nut

Help!!!!!! Yamaha pm700 question pm1000

Whats goin on, Gearslutz??? I've been checkin the site out for a minute now & amazingly enough I never posted anything. I hate for my first post to be a technical question & it seems like the piece of gear in question never seems to get many replies on here, but hopefully someone can help.

Heres my situation: I recently obtained a Yamaha PM700 Mixer which, as some may know, was built along the same time as the Yamaha PM1000 and similar mixers. Please don't get on me for going after/spending time on an older unit as opposed to a new "Mackie" or the like: Aside from the fact that i'm a starving musician, i'm planning to use this as a summing mixer due to the transformers on the inputs/outputs (i'm going after that "huge"/colored sound that similar-designed mixers/pres seem to be famous for). Cosmetically, its in beautiful shape, and aside from one of the hinges on the built-in casing, it almost looks brand-new. ANYHOW, it powers up & all lights come on (vu meters, console light), but when I plug in/speak into a dynamic mic, none of the 4 vu meter needles move and I get no sound from the headphone jack. I also tried the talkback button/mic input and same thing (no sound, no needles moving).