The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Studios with one control/live room, ala Lanois....
Old 11th November 2009
Studios with one control/live room, ala Lanois....

I'd like to hear some of your opinions on working in one room. I've worked this way in the past and really was amazed how different the process is. Anyone?
Old 12th November 2009
Gear Maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matty Muir View Post
I'd like to hear some of your opinions on working in one room. I've worked this way in the past and really was amazed how different the process is. Anyone?
I think it's a great idea for some people. It certainly is for most home recordists and situations where it's basically the band or artist recording their own material.
Old 13th November 2009
Lives for gear

Since the move south and the studio now in my house (basement) I've been doing the 'one room' recording situation for a few years solid, and did it a few times elsewhere.

It has both strengths and weaknesses. Great for the feeling of transparency between the musicians and yourself: a connected way to record as an ensemble. Bleed is inescapable - sometimes good, often not so good. Works best if the room is large, and if you're able to dampen down the reflections is a plus. Unless you're doing a totally 'live' album (Ramones) with loud levels, it's not recommended - virtually impossible to punch in/out unless it's a group effort. If the room is large enough, and the playing is acoustic - that's when the single room studio shines. IME, when the volume is manageable, THAT is when working in a single room is unbeatable.