The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Modifying vintage pre amp Mc Curdy to have phantom power
Old 11th March 2009
Here for the gear

Red face Modifying vintage pre amp Mc Curdy to have phantom power

Hello everyone,

Im a student in audiovisual and I have a big project to do so I would need a little help here..First of all, I'm a french canadian so please give clear information because my english is good but not so good hehe. Thank you.

So I have a DA501 pre amp from Mc Curdy and I need to do some modification on it to have a Phantom Power 48v+. To do that I need to do some modification on the power supply to have a 48v+ output. We have 47v not regulated at the end of the power supply but we need 48v+ DC.

At some point,my teacher give us a hint by telling us we need a LM317T high voltage I think. Also he told us we need to know how much voltage is at the transfo to adjust the value of the resistor so we can get 48v+ DC.

I need to do some research but I'm actually very lost about this so if someone could help me out a little, it would be really appreciated. Maybe a explanation of what job needs to be done to have 48v+ DC and explanation of the concept.

If you can give me some hint also of where to search, it would be usefull because I need to gather information but I'm completly lost in that project.

Thank you
Old 11th March 2009
Gear Guru

Well, I'm a nice guy, but I'm not nice enough to do your homework for you. So, I'll hint you the obvious part:

power transformer -> voltage doubler -> voltage divider -> voltage regulator

Now, there's one important detail I left out, without which this won't work straight up. And that, as they say, is left as an exercise to the reader ...
Old 11th March 2009
Here for the gear

Well Im not sure to understand clearly what your are saying.
And for the homework part well I have to do it whit the gear actually..We have to install a phantom power on preamp so even if you are nice to me...I will have to understand and do it myself hehe