The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
How do I know which valve is bad???
Old 8th July 2005
How do I know which valve is bad???

More electronics 101 here guys. Sorry about this!

How do I know which valve is bad in a guitar combo with 5 valves??

Any help greatly appreciated.
Old 8th July 2005
Lives for gear

Simple answer: You don't, unless you have the needed experience and a schematic.

Jakob E.
Old 8th July 2005
Lives for gear

I we're talking about noisy (microphonic) preamp valves one d.i.y. way of troubleshooting is to tap them lightly with the rubber-end of a pencil. The cilprit MIGHT make a horrible noise when you hit it. Otherwise the obvious thing is to replace them one at a time - when the noise stops you've found the nasty one.
Old 8th July 2005
Quote:
Simple answer: You don't, unless you have the needed experience and a schematic.
OK, I have an honours degree in E&EE and a schematic of my valves here.

But thanks for wasting my time anyway. fuuck

Anybody else want to help out a fellow GS who has been away from the shop floor for too long??

The kit is a totally dead Mesa Boogie guitar combo. The push pull pair are EL 84s and the rest are all 12AX7-As.

Any (actual, real) help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Old 8th July 2005
Lives for gear

ouch !!!

what makes you think it's a valve ?

totally dead ? meaning no power ?

si
Old 8th July 2005
Hi Orange,

should have clarified. The unit does have power but absolutely no ouput whatsoever.

Did a quick check at the input and output stages for dry joints and found nothing.

I then just jumped to the (perhaps incorrect and certainly naive) conclusion that I had a bad valve. This is the only bit of valve gear in the studio so thats what I tend to think when it goes wrong.

Old 8th July 2005
Gear Addict

Neil,
First off forget about solder joints. Mesa-Boogie builds them like tanks.