The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
"Hot plugging" XLR with phantom power on
Old 5th April 2008
Gear Nut

"Hot plugging" XLR with phantom power on

Is is dangerous for a mic to plug in its XLR cable while the phantom power is switched on? Does this 48 volt jolt have any negative effect?
Large and small condensers, not ribbons.
Old 5th April 2008
Lives for gear

In my experience, no it does not. However I am not an electronics engineer, only a live + studio sound man. The only thing I worry about with phantom is hot patching when output is being fed to the poweramps and in-turn speakers -> thats a nasty pop at times. [Especially with an evil deadly intermittent cable which causes 5 pops in a second because the phantom keeps cutting in and out every time the caterer steps on the xlr ]

Regardless, I am interested to hear replies

Old 5th April 2008
Lives for gear

You can put a nasty voltage spike into the mic preamp front end by hot plugging a mic with phantom power enabled. Visualize a 48V step in a circuit designed to amplify millivolts. This is known to preamp designers and typically protected against with input clamp circuitry.

You will usually just get a loud click/thump, but it is good practice to plug/unplug mics with phantom power off.

JR
Old 5th April 2008
Gear Addict

I guess it would depend on the pre-amp....Most preamps should have Hot plugging protection but I have come across a few that didn"t have any protection at all....Most Protection schemes I have seen just use a Pair of Diodes connected to the input leads and then each diode is then connected to +v and -v ,But I have also seen them connected to ground....

Cheers
Old 5th April 2008
Lives for gear

Most engineers turn the CTR volume down before they switch mics..
This is why I have a ramp up voltage on the JM-130 pre, reduces this pop quite a bit..
Old 6th April 2008
Lives for gear

With regard to hurting the actual microphone