The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Repairing Adam Audio A8X
Old 18th September 2020
Here for the gear

Repairing Adam Audio A8X

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting here, but I've been frequenting the forums for a few years now. I am also fairly new at owning studio monitors.

I recently came across a pair of Adam A8x monitors and I am going to attempt to fix them. The pair of monitors that I have powers on, sound only comes from the tweeter, although it isn't as loud as a normal speaker is. There are no sound coming from both of the woofers. At a glance the woofers seems intact and doesn't seem to have any physical tear. When playing music and depressing the woofers they are no vibrations or sound. Does anyone have any recommendations on how to proceed with troubleshooting the monitors? So far I've read that I could check the impedance of the woofers with a multimeter, when I attempted to check the woofers I didn't get any readings from it, just OL on the meter no matter which sensitivity used.

Any help would be greatly appreciated and welcomed.
Old 18th September 2020
Lives for gear

Contrary to what you've read, you can't check the impedance of the woofers or tweeters with a multimeter on the resistance setting...you need to use an impedance meter for that. When you put a multimeter on a good voice coil, all it sees is a piece of wire, and shows you close to zero ohms. On the other hand, if the wire is burnt through, and there is no longer continuity, the meter shows infinite resistance. Guess what...
Old 18th September 2020
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by ripple_fx1 View Post