The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
DBX 118 Modification - Little help?? Dynamics Processors (HW)
Old 3rd July 2007
Gear maniac

DBX 118 Modification - Little help??

Hey all,

I have a DBX118 that I want to "fix up" and have a couple of questions cos I am a bit of a noob when it comes to DIY...

1) The IC's on the board are OA2 TI RC4560, OA3 TI RC4560, OA4 AD 712 and OA5 LM 301AN... Can anyone suggest replacements for these? I am thinking Burr Brown but don't know which ones to choose...

2) The power supply is mentioned as coming in at +/-12VDC... Where on the board would I attach these to if I was to build a bigger and better damped PSU for this?

I have attached schematic and a pic of the PCB for your perusal...

Any other suggestions to pimp this guy up? I want to keep the same basic characteristics but improve the freq response and hopefully reduce the noise, it hisses like a snake.

Thanks heaps!!!
Attached Thumbnails
DBX 118 Modification - Little help??-dbx118.gif  
Old 3rd July 2007
Gear maniac

Here the GIF of the PCB...
Attached Thumbnails
DBX 118 Modification - Little help??-dbx118_a_m.jpg  
Old 3rd July 2007
Change opamp 3 to a LM4562, LM6172, AD8599, LT1358. Use a machined socket to test them. Add a couple of .1 uf mono ceramic caps from pins 4 and 8 to pin 3 (ground). Bypass the .33 uf input cap with a .01 uf polyprop film like Wima. Change the 4.7 uf output cap to a 220 uf 25v Panasonic FM with a .01 polyprop bypass.

The power supply has lots of ripple, the National 4562 has very good PSRR. I would add some 4700 uf caps into the psu mains to limit the hum. If you replace the power transformer with a small torriod, you can get the secondary voltage up to over 18 volts. Then you can fit a couple of 7815/7915 regulators in there and really quiet it up.

Jim Williams
Audio Upgrades
Old 3rd July 2007