The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Alesis M1 Active died, burning smell
Old 25th May 2020
Here for the gear

Alesis M1 Active died, burning smell

Hi everyone,

My Alesis M1 Active 360 died while giving off burnt plastic smell. The attached image shows the only place on the PCB that shows sign of damage. I'm not an engineer so I'm not sure if the damaged part is the coil shown in the image or the component next to it.

I'd appreciate your feedback, plus how to remove the charred goo without damaging the PCB.

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Alesis M1 Active died, burning smell-alesis.png  
Old 25th May 2020
Lives for gear

Looks a bit like a capacitor had a dishonorable discharge. It'd help to either get the circuit diagram or a look at an undamaged one. Do both monitors run of one set of electronics or are both powered individually? There are different versions according to quick search.
Old 25th May 2020
Here for the gear

Hi Fay,

Each monitor is powered individually. There is only one capacitor near that area and it is not damaged. I'm thinking of replacing the copper coil piece but I don't know how to remove the glue that surrounds it, especially the part that has been charred.
Old 25th May 2020
Lives for gear

The coil would be about the last thing to die on the board. It doesn't look like it overheated or anything; the yellow wrapper is nice and fresh looking, for instance.

It does look like a component just below the coil (in the picture) and next to the half-covered diode self-destructed, and I would also guess that's an electrolytic capacitor. I'd suggest comparing the board in the good monitor to this one to see what components should be there. If it's an electrolytic capacitor there, it may be wise to replace the one in the other monitor also as a preventative measure since they're most likely from the same batch, making the assumption that the monitors were bought together originally.