The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
does low mass (electrostatic) in a speaker help it resolve very quiet details?
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Addict

does low mass (electrostatic) in a speaker help it resolve very quiet details?

Hello,

I have noticed that condenser mics can capture very quiet details (whisper level) better than dynamics. I am thinking the mass of the dynamic's diaphragm is too heavy for very low energy sources. If it is too quiet, the dynamic mic simply ignores it... the physics of the heavy mass of the diaphragm is not overcome, and no diaphragm movement occurs. I think this is part of the reason that condenser mics output way more millivolts-per-pascal than dynamics (I don't really know... I'm not an electronics expert).

I equate magnetic cone speakers to dynamic mics, and electrostatic speakers to condenser mics. That being said, do electrostatic speakers do a better job than cones in terms of reproducing extremely quiet sounds? I'm thinking that the mass of the electostatic element is very light, so it can do quiet playback better. Magnetic cones speakers are comparitively heavy, so super quiet sources are not going to overcome the mass inertia of the cone.

A lot of peole are interested in low-distortion loud playback. I'm interested in high-resolution quiet playback.
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

electrostatic transducers

Quote:
Originally Posted by gearstudent View Post
do electrostatic speakers do a better job than cones in terms of reproducing extremely quiet sounds?
they certainly do.

ask an old geezer that has heard the KLH 9 or original Quads.

not reliable nor do they reproduce at a decent playback level.

Last edited by cathode; 2 weeks ago at 09:07 PM..
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear
To extend your mic analogy: