The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
DDA Q console: recapping, modding and fader replacement
Old 16th January 2020
DDA Q console: recapping, modding and fader replacement

Hey fellas.

This is my first post on the Geekslutz section and I'm just a humble recording engineer who barely knows how to use a voltmeter, let alone read a diagram, so be gentle please

I run a lovely DDA Q which along with a 2" tape machine is the heart of my studio. And while my MTR-90 is almost like new, the DDA need some love. Especially with headroom, where it seems to sound "exhausted" if I'm not very careful with gainstaging. I got a torrent of questions, so for the sake of your sanity I'm gonna list them in each their section although some of them are connected.

Would be grateful if you can give me a bit of advice.
My plan is to have an experienced guy drop by and doing the master section as its more risky and trickier than the individual channels. After that I'll try and gain the courage to recap a few channels myself as well as changing some faders that are too scratchy and have been bugging me for a while.

1. Where in Europe do I buy Panasonic FM caps or something equally good?

Which values do I need for the master section and while I'm at it the channel strips? For the master I'd love to do the bypass cap thing, that is said to improve the sound a fair deal.
The schematics is here: http://ddaconsoles.com/pdf/schematic...schematics.pdf
And here's a thread on GroupDIY that discuss the mod: https://groupdiy.com/index.php?topic=57729.0

2. Which faders do I need?

The originals are Alps and says 006K - 10 KA.
I suppose they come in different sizes. Any way to make sure I get some that would fit?

3. What about the transformer option?