The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Modding EQ Freq points on 70´s Raindirk Mixer
Old 4 days ago
Modding EQ Freq points on 70´s Raindirk Mixer

Hi friends.
I have a beautiful Raindirk Mini Mixer from 1973.
This is a smaller broadcast version of the more famous "Series 3" console.

Since this specific mini mixer was designed for broadcast, they limited the frequency choices on the EQ compared to the Series 3 that has the same eq but with selectable freq´s in the Top shelf and Bass shelf.
The Mid and Bass bands are inductor based.

I was wondering, without even looking at the schematics (Wich I could provide) is there a "general" easy way to mod it to have at least one more freq choice on Bass & Treble?
I´m hoping that it would just be a matter of adding a different resistor value, but I´m guessing it is waay more complicated than that?

Even though I solder DIY kits from time to time, I am total noob of electronics, so I am basically asking if this is an easy thing for a tech to do, or likely something more of a scientific labour to make it right?

Thank you for your time!
//Ted Krotkiewski

Last edited by Ted Krotkiewski; 3 days ago at 09:56 AM..
Old 4 days ago
Lives for gear
It’s probably as easy as drilling a hole in the metal, adding a mini toggle switch (2 or even 3 positions) and then removing the “send” leg of the eq cap and adding a wire to the “ins” of the switch. Then connect the open leg of the original cap to one position on the switch. Now add the second (and third if you go that route) to the other “out” position on the switch and tie them back into the pcb at the same place the original cap joins it.

Really it’s easier if you remove the original cap and connect it along with the new cap (or two) right to am the switch, but size can play a factor too. This bit is my personal opinion and there might not be 100% correct.