The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Gear mods
Old 13th September 2019
Here for the gear
Gear mods

I have 10 years experience in soldering(thru hole and smt), I can repair and troubleshoot stuff relatively well, and I am an electrician apprentice. I was wondering if there were any websites or youtube channels or books about modding audio gear. I am mostly focused on upgrading op amps, vcas, tubes, adding transformers, etc. because I don't have a lot of money currently and won't be making big bucks for a few years. Plus I like reviving old gear and keeping it out of landfills. I even revive old tools to use at work. I am just a thrifty person.

Before anyone asks I don't hate plugins I actually use all freeware plugins currently and enjoy it but the ergonomics are terrible for me and I get indecisive and prefer to go with gear I know intimiately and have to commit with, I cut my teeth on live sound, broadcast, and recording my band on 4 tracks and old digital recorders so I just prefer to do a lot of external processing.

So far I have brought a shure m68 line mixer my friend found in a shack on his property back to life, all new caps and transistors, beefed up caps in power supply, paint job, etc. and I like it but having to rely on forum posts of previous people doing mods seems like I am not learning enough.

Thank you for your time!
Old 14th September 2019
Here for the gear
bumping, won't bump again though.
Old 14th September 2019
Gear Guru

GroupDIY should be to your taste.
Old 14th September 2019
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trojanmantony View Post
... but having to rely on forum posts of previous people doing mods seems like I am not learning enough.
TBH that is a great way to learn if you dont know a gear guru.

And yes, sub to GDIY.
Old 14th September 2019
Lives for gear