The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Which Solders Sound the best
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Which Solders Sound the best

Hi,

I am a novice audio DIYer. Now need to buy new solder for my coming DIY projects. Understanding that solders will impact sound (audio quality), I want to get our experience on this.

Through reviewing online information, I have short-listed some:
- Kester 63Sn/36Pb: Said to be neutral sounding but a bit dull. Easy to work with.
- Kester 96.5Sn/3Ag/0.5Cu : Said to be detailed sounding with good extension.
- Kester 96.3Sn/3.7Ag : Not much information on this
- MultiCore 62Sn/36Pb/2Ag

Not going to use exotic Solder such as WBT, Cardas...etc due to cost.

Very likely will go for silver containing Kester solder but some said solder shall have lead to sound "Full".

Also, for the Kester solder, I wonder why we don't use all Flux 245 (or 274) "no clean flux" which will be less work or headache for cleaning the flux. Are the Flux 44 or Flux 48 easier to work with or give better sound than the "no clean flux"?

Would appreciate your sharing on your experience.

Thanks
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Maniac

Just get something good for your needs & move on.

As a novice you would want to be expending your energies on the learning curve of achieving good quality solder joints & good technical practices.. don't worry about possible (real, implied or imagined) minute differences in solder 'sonics'.

There's no shortage of good youtube tutorials on the subject (how to solder).

Fwiw I actually use WBT silver solder for my soldering jobs :-) , I just luvs how it flows & solidifies all shiny-like. If I was in the position of doing a lot of soldering all the time / working professionally I'd use a big 'ol roll of Kester...