The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Tape emulation waveshaping/transfer function
Old 1 week ago
Tape emulation waveshaping/transfer function

Hi everyone,

Longtime engineer/producer, n00b with electronics and DSP. I am currently studying an MSc in Digital Audio Engineering (read audio programming and DSP). For one of my assignments, I have chosen to implement a basic tape emulation function in Matlab. As I am at the beginning of my DSP journey I don't want to overcomplicate things and therefore I just want to do something that approximates tape.

I have ran a load of chirps and sines through my own tape machine an Otari MX80 (calibrated to 30 IPS, SM911 tape). I have some plots and can see that the 3rd Harmonic being present without having to drive the tape too hard and closer to hard clipping points I have some 5th and 2nd coming in.

I am going to try and implement a *simple* function, where I will use an FIR filter, based on the impulse response of my tape machine to replicate the frequency response and a waveshaper to replicate the saturation (at this point wow/flutter and other things will take too long so I am just doing something simple).

My question is does anybody know where there might be any research on how to create a waveshaper which would favour 3rd Harmonics? or maybe even a transfer function for tape?
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear
Just curious, since I'm definitely not a Simulink-level DSP guy: will your FIR add a distortion that's not part of Otari's actual sound?

-
[And looking to the future. Some day soon, someone will load a big bunch of Otari before/after samples into AWS or similar, and train a neural net to do all this...
Old 1 week ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Rose View Post
Just curious, since I'm definitely not a Simulink-level DSP guy: will your FIR add a distortion that's not part of Otari's actual sound?