The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
How to modify my car radio
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear

How to modify my car radio

My hearing isn't the greatest and I'm not hearing my car radio\disc player properly.

What I'd like to do is add a headphone socket to the radio unit so that I can choose to listen to the speakers normally, or through headphones.

I've been told I'd have to modify the radio to do this.

I'm no expert but I would have thought I'd only need to insert the headphone jack into to the speaker lead circuit.

Advice would be appreciated.
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Addict

I want to drive with headphones so I can't hear my muffler failing and sirens and people screaming as I blindly back up. Plus I got nice phones. Your reasoning, I have to admit, is much better sounding...
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear

It’s not that simple because the electrical requirements for a set of car speakers and a pair of headphones are quite different. If you did that you would damage the headphones and/or the speaker amplifier and it wouldn’t sound right anyway.

Surely you’re aware though that it’s illegal almost everywhere to drive with headphones on? I can’t imagine telling the officer when you get pulled over, “It’s all right, my hearing just isn’t good enough to hear the car radio IN MY CAR, hence the headphones. But don’t worry about whether I can hear the world outside my car.”
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear
Bump

Crash
Old 4 weeks ago
< moved to geekslutz forum >
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Addict

But if you want to do it ONLY WHILE PARKED, there are 3 easy options, if available:

1: Bluetooth. Does the radio have Bluetooth?
2: Put your music on DVD and plug your phones into the backseat DVD player. If you have one, it probably has a headphones jack.
3: Portable MP3 player. This is the obvious one.