The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Learn the basics, suggestion for a good read Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 1 week ago
Gear Maniac

Learn the basics, suggestion for a good read

Hello,

Around a year ago, after been recording for 19 years completely itb and feeling a bit bored, I wanted to try something new and made a hybrid setup with pc and analog console/outboard.

I'm enjoying it very much, but I've had to do some maintenance and I want to learn how to do bymyself some of the most basic stuff.
I have no knowledge or skills whastoever, I can just solder a cable.

Can someone suggest me a simple read to begin learning the basics to do some little work bymyself? (english is not my mother tongue but english text is fine)

Thank you
Old 6 days ago
Lives for gear

Just buy something thats broken and fix it.
Preferably simple audio gear.

Read up on powersupplys. To my experience: thats where you want to start!

Next tip: don.t start with scratch builds. Way to demotivating for a starter.
Old 6 days ago
Gear Maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by pief View Post
Just buy something thats broken and fix it.
Preferably simple audio gear.

Read up on powersupplys. To my experience: thats where you want to start!

Next tip: don.t start with scratch builds. Way to demotivating for a starter.
Thanks for the tip.
What do you mean by simple audio gear?
I'm really at level 0, I'm just starting to learn what a capacitor or a resitor do in a circuit.
I was thinking about a diy guitar pedal kit.
Would it be the simplest thing to do?
Old 6 days ago
Gear Maniac

Start by learning what the components are that make up an audio circuit.
Resistor
Capacitor
Operational amplifier
Transistor
Rectifier
Etc....
Learn what they do. As you run into stuff you don’t understand then google that aspect of circuitry.