The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Another Yamaha SPX Power Supply Thread Multi-Effects Processors (HW)
Old 16th September 2017
Gear Nut

Another Yamaha SPX Power Supply Thread

So I got a dead Yamaha SPX 90, and I also have the schematic. Unfortunately the service manual does not tell me what voltages I should expect to see where.
So maybe someone here can help with that?

In the service manual schematic (attached), on page 26, looking at the "Japanese, US, and Canadian Models" power supply section, I am wondering what voltage I should see on the output of the rectifier D1. I get about 60V AC in on each (must be) input leg and it seems like nothing useful on the output legs. I assume I should expect DC on the output? I am using a digital multimeter to try to read the values.

Thanks for the advice. I am still learning.

Clay
Attached Files
File Type: pdf yamaha_spx90_service_manual.pdf (6.78 MB, 120 views)
Old 16th September 2017
Gear Nut

Anyone?
Old 16th September 2017
Lives for gear

It's better to measure the voltages at the output connectors from the PS. That should be connectors CN4 and CN5. There is also an analog supply for the audio components which is +/- 15V and one for +5V. The schematic is actually incomplete - search around to see if you can find a better one.
Old 16th September 2017
Gear Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vitalis View Post
It's better to measure the voltages at the output connectors from the PS. That should be connectors CN4 and CN5. There is also an analog supply for the audio components which is +/- 15V and one for +5V. The schematic is actually incomplete - search around to see if you can find a better one.