The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Why this capacitor in my Bose satellite speaker ?
Old 26th January 2017
Gear Head

Why this capacitor in my Bose satellite speaker ?

Hi ! I'm going to unite a bunch of Bose satelite speakers to make a poor man's L1..... I opened up the se-5 speaker and found a 4.7 MF capacitor connected from one speaker to the other... ( The two speakers are connected in series). The capacitor is connected to the two positive terminals of the speakers... My other Bose satelites...The model 7 ones , the cubes, have no capacitor.... What purpose does that capacitor give, and can I just take it out ?? I have a BBE crossover which will only send 200 Hz and above to these satélite arrays... I see no reason to have a capacitor in there..... Do you ? I will have 8 of these Bose se-5s per side (16 speakers per side)... That means 8 capacitors.... Can I just take them out ? I'm a newbie , so pardon my lack of knowledge in this.....Thanks for tips !
Old 26th January 2017
Lives for gear

Suggest you study speaker design, the capacitor is there as a high-pass to the tweeter.
Old 29th January 2017
Gear Maniac

well this is what I called sudo two-way back when I was playing with building speakers in the mid 80's. interesting that Bose used it in a commercial application. what it does it shunts all the highs to the other speaker. this causes the loading of the hi pass frequencies to be of just one speaker and the lower frequencies are in series and observed on the two full range drivers electrically, they are -3db but acoustically, they are +3db thatr results in a 0db penalty for putting two speakers in series (theoretically). A secondary result would be reduced high frequency distortion compared to two clock radio speakers either in series or parallel.
Old 30th January 2017
Lives for gear