The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
The Sound of Sontec
Old 30th August 2020
Here for the gear

The Sound of Sontec

Hey everyone,

Short time lurker, first time poster. I'm relatively new to the world of mastering. Been interning with Matthew Gray for a bit over a year now, learning the craft and drawing upon his considerable years of experience (thanks heaps Matt). So yeah, don't flame or troll me too viciously, I'm only a tender little beanshoot.

Depending on your personality, you might find this post to be either very interesting and thought provoking... or quite nerdy and somewhat boring ������

Recently, we had a Sontec MES-432C in the studio for a little while.

I had heard people speak (as many of you would have) of the magic of the Sontec sound, and we have all seen with our own eyes the magic of the Sontec price tag.

Matt has owned one before, but this was my first opportunity to play with one. Not surprisingly, it was a pleasure to use. The curves are musical, the layout is clear and the physical feel is pure class. It also struck me as clean and precise. I found myself thinking I would like to track down this Sontec magic, and isolate it if possible, so I could clearly hear it without any bias. I figured that if I could remove all other variables this might be achievable.

The plan was to print a selection of material through the 432 at a handful of different settings – some subtle real-world curves and others quite drastic in order to accentuate any unique qualities. For each setting I would use PluginDoctor to analyse the frequency magnitude response of the Sontec, and match these curves using a clean digital EQ. I would then also print the same audio through the mastering console with nothing inserted (to remove it as a variable) and process these files with the presets I had made. The end result would be pairs of files in which the only sonic difference should be the Sontec signature.