The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Help! Mic shootout
Old 3 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Help! Mic shootout

Hi there, I am a professional voice over in Australia. I've used just the one mic in my home studio for ages and its served me really well, but I thought I'd like to try and find another one which might suit my voice even better.

I noted the name of a mic I used in a studio a while ago which sounded fantastic, and after reading amazing reviews about it, (especially for sibilant people like me), I went and bought it.

But I just don't think it's as great as I was hoping it would be. (Maybe the studio had incredible pre-amps??) I'd be really interested to hear what you guys - with better ears than me - think.

Here's the file (hopefully): https://soundcloud.com/robharding/mi...arch20/s-gLxMQ

I won't tell you what the two mics are just yet just for a bit of nail-biting suspense - only A and B. I've read the same 3 scripts with mic a then with mic b, so not identical delivery but hopefully close enough to get a vibe. (So all one track with Mic A Script 1,2,3 then Mic B Script 1,2,3.) I'll try and remember to check back in and let you know what the two mics are!

Both mics are running through a Focusrite Scarlett. No treatment, EQ, compression, etc. Mic B is a fair bit softer in level so I have boosted it a few db.

Would love your feedback! Which one do you prefer? Is there a style of read which suits one mic over the other? All feedback greatly appreciated!

Cheers,
Rob.
Old 3 weeks ago
Lives for gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobbieH View Post
[. . .] I've used just the one mic in my home studio for ages and its served me really well, but [. . .]

[. . .] Which one do you prefer? Is there a style of read which suits one mic over the other? [. . .]
From listening to the scripts in isolation, I don't prefer either mic on your voice as configured.

All three scripts seemed very, very similar - too much, so, for me - even if you were evaluating just one mic.