The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Universal Audio LA-610 NOS Tube Upgrade - w/ clips
Old 26th February 2016
Gear Maniac

Universal Audio LA-610 NOS Tube Upgrade - w/ clips

Hi all,

Wanted to talk a bit about tube upgrades to the Universal Audio LA-610. I am by no means an expert on tubes (or “scientific” clip comparisons), but as I know that there’s been a good number of threads on the subject, and I don’t recall ever hearing any clips, I thought I’d take a crack.

Just over a year ago I was somewhat disenchanted with my LA610, so I thought I’d look into upgrades. I was in contact with Christian Whitmore (fellow GS member) from Pro Audio Tubes, and he made some fantastic recommendations, and presented me with a ton of options.

I pulled the trigger on the following replacements tubes, and FINALLY (yes, they sat in a box for a year), I took the time last night to do a quick before and after recording.

TUBES USED:
Input stages:
-NOS Telefunken 12AX7
-NOS Mullard 12AX7
Other stages:
-The 6AQ5, new, cheap US-made piece*
-Side chain: Vintage 12AX7*
-Output tube:* NOS GE 6072

Note, there are 2 “after” recordings, as Christian suggested I play with swapping the V2 and V3 input gain tubes for different tones (Mullard > Telefunken or Telefunken > Mullard). I was surprised at the tonal impact that had!

Anyway; there is nothing done to these tracks; it’s me playing and singing into a Flea 47. Identical settings on the LA-610 in all cases.

I am interested to hear which tone people prefer, as I actually think they’re all pretty good (aside from the fret/string noise…but that’s my mediocre playing and mic placement)…but I did have a favorite in the end.

LA-610 Stock tubes: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fqa0nz0afm...stock.wav?dl=0
LA-610 Mullard > Telefunken: https://www.dropbox.com/s/7ex3jfi0lx...-tele.wav?dl=0
LA-610 Telefunken > Mullard: https://www.dropbox.com/s/p0h48eyndf...llard.wav?dl=0