The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Native languege (Italian) or English for music/equipment/mixing youtube channel?
Old 19th April 2020
Native languege (Italian) or English for music/equipment/mixing youtube channel?

Hey guys, I'm Simone (Nyroh), I'm a musician, mixing professional and music lover. I'm in doubt on the direction that my channel should take between continuing making videos in English or going back to Italian.

I started making videos in Italian (5 years ago) but then felt the need to go for english because:
  • the channels that make content similar to mine are english
  • I hoped to become a big youtube channel (or better, a "famous" musician/mixing engineer)

Since then, I creaded MOSTLY english videos but many of them are italians; you can see in the image attached that the vast majority of the videos that worked out great are in fact Italian. Here's some general thoughts:
  • I have 2590 subscribers
  • 33,9% of my subscribers come from Italy
  • In the image below you can see my top youtube videos for vews, hours of views and mean watch time
  • The vast majority of my video whatches comes from non subscribed viewers
  • The video that got me more subscribers is a review of a product that got to 65'000 views in English but the videos that have most watch time and most likes are in Italian

And here's what made me think "I maybe should go back to Italian..."
  • Time: when creating videos in english I HAVE to create a list of things to say or worst, I write down everything I wanna say and so lose A LOT of time. Also, as soon as we all get back to work, it won't be possible for me to write down what to say and to record too every week
  • The English mask: using english makes me feel like I have a mask, and that the spontaneous me (funny, happy, positive but also (musically) cultured) gets lost