The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Spotify Notice of Intent to Obtain Compulsory License
Old 22nd March 2018
Gear Addict

I don't know where to post this question so I'll just post it here. Mods please feel free to move this to where it should be.

I got a letter from Spotify - a Notice of Intent to Obtain Compulsory License - for one of my songs. It seems that they want to publish my song for streaming on Spotify. It is my first time to receive something like this and am not familiar with this process. So I have the following questions:

1. Does it mean I will be giving Spotify only the right to publish/stream my song as-is on their site but not allow them to alter the arrangement of my song in any way or have some other artist record my song to create another version?

2. How did Spotify get wind of my song? I never put it for streaming on public anywhere, just sent it to very few special friends. Oh, I have it on SoundCloud but it's listed there as private so no one can listen to it unless I give them a link. And I also registered my song with the copyright office, but does the copyright office allow any people to listen to songs registered with them?

3. What pros and cons should I be aware of if I enter into this deal? What pitfalls should I be aware of, considering that I want to be able to market this song myself and perform it in public in the future? I don't want to lose any rights and regret it later.

4. Does anybody have any bad experience with Spotify in going into this kind of deal?

5. On the last page of Spotify's letter where it says "Recording Details", it indicates the following:
Label Name: VAA
Catalog Number:
Writers: (My name)
Recording Artists: Aldious
What is "VAA" and who is "Aldious" and why is it indicated here? Is Aldious the name of a band that will record or create a new version of my song?
I'm so puzzled by this.

I would really appreciate any help or comments from you guys who are experienced and knowledgeable about this process.