The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Use Wordpress to build a website to sell music
Old 2nd October 2016
Lives for gear

Use Wordpress to build a website to sell music

Has anyone used wordpress to build a website to sell your music?

If anyone has I would like to know your thoughts on it after having done it. I am not a web developer but want to build a site to sell my music thru that doesn't break the bank.

Thanks in advance for any replies.
Old 2nd October 2016
Lives for gear
I don't have an answer, but might I suggest that the question asked appears to actually encapsulate two questions:

1. Can one reasonably hope to sell their music through their own stand-alone website?

2. Is making such a website do-able for a non-developer in Wordpress?
Old 2nd October 2016
Lives for gear

agree

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicus View Post
I don't have an answer, but might I suggest that the question asked appears to actually encapsulate two questions:

1. Can one reasonably hope to sell their music through their own stand-alone website?

2. Is making such a website do-able for a non-developer in Wordpress?
Thanks for a summary. It is indeed what I am asking.

I have had a distributor for Europe and Asia for 15+ years and finally negotiated a contract that I can set up a web site to sell in the U.S.. Partly to see if the music sells in the U.S. and part ego trip.
Old 4th October 2016
Lives for gear
Well more than a day later I'm sorry to see you don't have more replies. This is something that often surprises me about GS - threads about promoting your music generally garner little interest. Don't know why. I realize it's "Gear" Slutz, not "Music Business" Slutz - but still. I would have thought there'd be more interest in the topic of commercializing the music we make with all that gear. Or maybe people are keeping their marketing secrets close?
Old 4th October 2016
Lives for gear