The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
What Are You Using For Freeware VSTi's? Virtual Instrument Plugins
Old 29th June 2017
Lives for gear

What Are You Using For Freeware VSTi's?

I'm a MacBook Pro user and I want to know what are you using for VSTi's and what are some that aren't CPU hogs?
Old 30th June 2017
Gear Maniac
Dexed is probably my favorite soft synth I have free or not. If you are in to fm synthesis it is a must have. I have an actual DX7 and it is almost indisguishable (digital grit and all) but it is of course far easier to use.
Also, Crystal is an oldie but a goodie if you haven't already used it. I pulled it up for the first time in a long while recently and I was very impressed by how well it has held up over the years.
Old 12th September 2017
Lives for gear

KVR: Free instrument for Mac OS X

I am on PC - the page above helps me find what freebies also work on a Mac, so i'll just check first few pages if there are VSTis i regularly use there.
OK:
PG-8X +
OBXD +
TAL ELEK7RO -
CRYSTAL -
ZEBRALETTE -
SYNTH1 +
TYRELL N6 +
REAKTOR PLAYER
SFORZANDO
DEXED +

That is from first 10 pages.
"+" signs next to my favorite ones.
"-" signs next to ones that i don't really use regularly, just once in a blue moon.
Old 12th September 2017
Lives for gear
A bunch of HG Fortune instruments
MDA Electric Piano

I'll add to the list when I get back to my DAW and take a look. My memory isn't what it used to be.
Old 12th September 2017
Lives for gear
A bunch of HG Fortune instruments
MDA Electric Piano

I'll add to the list when I get back to my DAW and take a look. My memory isn't what it used to be.
Old 12th September 2017
Lives for gear

What sequencer are you using?

Old 12th September 2017
Lives for gear

@gdoubleyou you're asking me? I have no DAW yet but the sequencer I plan to use is a HW one.
Old 12th September 2017
Lives for gear