The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Synths for sale     Latest  Trending
Driver modification for roland SP-555
Old 17th February 2015
Driver modification for roland SP-555

Hi! I'm the happy owner of Roland SP-555. What makes me unhappy is the compatibility issue since they quit supporting windows 8.1 and OS 10.9 and higher. I know Roland wants me to buy some new boxes, but I'm totally in love with SP-555 and still want to use all the features, including midi and audio interface.
So Windows 8.1 issue was easy. This helped me to figure it out. Basically speaking all you need to do is to add a line "windows 8.1 supported" in the driver file. Really was it so hard to do for roland's programmers?
What about Mac? That's more complicated, as far as I'm not a mac developer. I tried to modify some parts of the driver but it's all useless cause I have no idea how to pack those *.pkg files and all that console-related stuff.
I've asked on the mac developers forum for any help, but maybe someone already had solved this. If so or if you have some ideas, please share. I'm sure I'm not the only one who doesn't want to replace SP-555 with some other device just because of drivers!
Thanx in advance
If I know something new or have the solution, I'll drop it here
Old 19th February 2015
The problem solved. I found the solution here. Instead of modifying the driver I just faked the system version on the macbook by editing systemversion.plist file. You can type there any system version and bypass the installation check, and then change it back. SP555 now works as audio and midi interface in the OS 10.9 with the driver for OS 10.8
Old 21st August 2016
Here for the gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by besairedt View Post