The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Mini keys? Yes or no? Keyboard Synthesizers
View Poll Results: How do you feel about synths with mini keys?
I love mini keys!!
14 Votes - 7.04%
They're kind of fun, on certain instruments.
21 Votes - 10.55%
I don't care about key size at all.
16 Votes - 8.04%
I prefer full-size keys, but mini keys might not stop me from buying something I wanted.
83 Votes - 41.71%
I do NOT like mini keys. I won't play them or buy them. Keep them away.
65 Votes - 32.66%
Voters: 199. You may not vote on this poll

Old 7th August 2014
Mini keys? Yes or no?

Given the heated discussions about mini keys, I thought it would be interesting to have a poll about how people feel about them.
Old 7th August 2014
Lives for gear

No.

1. I'm a musician. I took 8 years of piano lessons on normal keys.
2. Sure, I can midi it and use a controller, but then why even have any keys?
3. I think the extra normal keys production costs stated here are exaggerated. It's a way to cut costs, but you will also loose users who don't want a mini. Only Korg really knows their market. Eventually, I would bet they will release a non-mini version, and I'll hold out for that.
Old 7th August 2014
Lives for gear

Mini keys = they are great for children. Literally and metaphorically.
Old 7th August 2014
Gear Guru
I don't like em.. but I somehow don't mind it on the Microbrute because the footprint is still small.

If you're gonna give me some small keys.. I actually prefer those little chicklet keys like a Casio VL-Tone or MC-202 ... somehow I can rip on those.
Old 7th August 2014
Lives for gear

They don't stop from buying a synth/keyboard, if I really like it and the price is really cheap.
Old 7th August 2014
Lives for gear