The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Andromeda A6 OS Update Project Keyboard Synthesizers
Old 23rd July 2014
Gear Addict

Andromeda A6 OS Update Project

I'm starting a personal project to build an updated operating system for the Andromeda A6.

An OS update has been discussed on and off for the past decade. Usually the thread ends with the speculation that Alesis/Numark/InMusic won't help. The original A6 team has disbanded, Alesis won't release the source code, an so on. AFAIK, beyond some wishful thinking and, perhaps, a few emails to Alesis, not much action has been taken.

I'm a professional software developer. I grew up on C, assembly language, and bare metal programming. That puts me at least close to the right skill set to understand and improve an A6 OS. So, I'm going to give it a try.

In the best-case scenario, this project would be done with the blessing and support of Alesis/Numark/InMusic. I’m willing to sign the appropriate agreements (an NDA, for example) and to keep the source closed — whatever is necessary to get Alesis on board. Failing that, plan B is to reverse-engineer the software. There seems to be enough technical information available on the A6 that it just might be possible. Maybe.

I am not a lawyer, but my understanding is that it is legal to reverse-engineer software. To be sure, at some point I will talk to a lawyer to verify that I'm in a good legal position. I do not intend to compete with Alesis or to infringe upon any of their intellectual property. My sole aims are to fix known issues in the A6 and to implement missing features.

This is a closed-source project. In fact, nothing gets released until I know where I stand legally. With that said, I intend for the updates to be available free of charge.