The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Synths for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Starting out, do you keep a schedule
Old 29th October 2013
Here for the gear
Starting out, do you keep a schedule

Hi everyone, i just joined the forums here and i searched teh internets and couldn't find much about this so i figured i'd ask. I'm just starting out producing my own electronic music. if i had to label it i would say it's progressive house/dubstep. Anyway, I'm wondering how you all started out, especially in regards to marketing. Also did you ever have any kind of schedule that you tried to keep? I know making music has no real rules and you do what you want when you want, but sometimes i need to have a little structure or i won't get anything done. I'm thinking about something like getting one rough song done every two weeks or so and trying to get together an EP within three months. is that reasonable? I totally expect my music to be mediocre at the start, but hopefully it won't be too bad!
Old 29th October 2013
If you want to produce and records music as a career it is essential to treat it as a 9-5 job. Maybe not by working within those hours specifically, but being regimented and having a schedule where you say "from 10-12 I'm going to work on these drums, from 1-3 I'm going to work on this melody" forces you to get **** done and eventually finish tracks.

In terms of banging out a song every 2 weeks, some tracks might take longer than others to be considered "finished" (they always feel like they're missing something right up till the end) but this is more than enough time to get one song recorded and out the door
Old 30th October 2013
Here for the gear